space to imajin

The Harder they Come..

Posted on: September 19, 2006

200609191057
I was well into my 20’s when I first saw The Harder They Come, Jamaica’s first full length feature film.

I was blown away…

Raw, gritty, but surprisingly good! Not just because it was from my country, Jamaica, but the realness of a film that iconified the decade within which I was born, the 70’s. Watching a singer act with such genuine “turn-cornmeal” gravitas made me feel proud to be who I am. Jamaican. Also the true tale told ad infinitum of how the center bleeds the edge dry of it’s young. How town and country have a thorny co-existence. This sad tale of national dichotomy is repeated in so many places across the globe daily.

200609191057-1
Not all fall into a life of crime and not all make something of their lives. What is forever certain, is that all are forever changed.
200609191056-1

Please click through to the Jamaica Observer article below for a “behind the scenes” peek about the movie and it’s recent screening in Toronto. Also, if you have seen the movie, let me know what you think about it below in the comments section.

Jamaican filmmaker Perry Henzell has said he was “amazed” at the “phenomenal” success of the movie, The Harder They (The Jamaica Observer):
Mr Henzell was speaking with patrons who attended the screening of a restored version of the movie at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) in Canada on Thursday last , where he shared some of the problems he encountered in trying to market Jamaica’s first feature-length movie.

Thanks to Netflix , I was finally able to see this Jamaican cult classic before I left the US for Panama. I hope to buy this restored version as soon as it hits DVD.

Leave a Reply

a

My Flickr Photos

RSS Life Stream

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

York's Hot Links

RSS My tracks

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 22,090 hits

Music

